» » Alexander Hawkins Ensemble - Step Wide, Step Deep

Alexander Hawkins Ensemble - Step Wide, Step Deep mp3 download

Alexander Hawkins Ensemble - Step Wide, Step Deep mp3 download Performer: Alexander Hawkins Ensemble
Album: Step Wide, Step Deep
Released: 2014
Style: Free Improvisation, Free Jazz, Contemporary Jazz
Size MP3: 1381 mb.
Size FLAC: 1465 mb.
Rating: 4.9/5
Votes: 149

Step Wide, Step Deep. Label: Babel Label Released: 2014 Views: 1,370. Dylan Bates: violin; Neil Charles: double bass; Otto Fischer: electric guitar; Alexander Hawkins: piano; Shabaka Hutchings: clarinet, bass clarinet; Tom Skinner: drums, percussion. Step Wide, Step Deep by Glenn Astarita. Step Wide, Step Deep by Karl Ackermann. Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process.

Step Wide, Step Deep - Space of Time Danced Thru" (tk1) leads of the proceedings in real style, probably the most Dolphy-esque piece on the record. This is due, in part, to the new line-up's bass clarinet and violin front-line playing the melody. The other reference is probably the wonderful 'joyous hippo' type solo on this tune from Shabaka Hutchins' bass clarinet. The other members also get a chance to solo, placing phrases wherever possible in the rocky (lurching) rhythm section. The whole piece builds up over the 12 minutes finishing up in joyful mayhem

Alexander Hawkins Ensemble - Teatro Metastasio, Prato, 28/1/13. Alexander Hawkins (piano); Dylan Bates (violin); Otto Fischer (guitar); Shabaka Hutchings (bass clarinet); Neil Charles (double bass); Tom Skinner (drums). Show all ALEXANDER HAWKINS online videos. Added by js more than 2 years ago.

Alexander Hawkins Cheltenham jazz festival. 19. Alexander Hawkins. Unit (Self-released, 2017). The 2017 double album Unit sees the Oxford-based pianist wave goodbye to the septet who recorded 2014’s deliciously knotty Step Wide, Step Deep, and introduce a larger group featuring London improvisers like Julie Kjaer and Alex Ward, alongside younger players like Dinosaur’s Laura Jurd. The septet disc – which features Sons of Kemet’s Shabaka Hutchings and Tom Skinner – pays homage to American free jazz on Jerome Cooper’s stomping We The People, and channels everything from European modernism to Chicago house on the two part all. On the second disc, Hawkins presides over a controlled.

Alexander Hawkins – Elaine Mitchener Quartet, Alexander Hawkins Ensemble, Alexander Hawkins Trio, Decoy (13), Dominic Lash Quartet, Louis Moholo-Moholo Quartet, Louis Moholo-Moholo Unit, Louis Moholo-Moholo's Five Blokes, Nick Malcolm Quartet, Oxford Improvisers Orchestra, Roberto Ottaviano QuarkTet, Sant'Anna Arresi Quintet By Evan Parker, Step Ahead Band, The Convergence Quartet. Variations: Viewing All Alexander Hawkins.

In 2012, Hawkins recorded his first solo piano album, Song Singular. It was described by The Guardian's John Fordham as "state-of-the-art contemporary piano jazz" This version of his Ensemble emphasises, in Hawkins' view, rhythm more than the previous one did. The original Ensemble, formed in late 2007, co. .

Listen/ Glow song from the album Step Wide, Step Deep is released on Nov 2013. The duration of song is 08:16. This song is sung by Alexander Hawkins Ensemble.

Step Wide, Step Deep 2013. Forgiven Only Words Once. Step Wide, Step Deep 2013. Assemble/ Melancholy. Step Wide, Step Deep/ Space of Time Danced Thru. Baobab Constellation. All There, Ever Out 2012.

Alexander Hawkins Trio features a rhythm section that includes bassist Neil Charles who has worked with drummer Jack DeJohnette, trumpeter Terence Blanchard and the Mingus Big Band. Rounding out the group (a working trio since 2012), is drummer Tom Skinner has worked with Ethiopian musician Mulatu Astatke, known as the father of Ethio-jazz. The trio members are also part of Hawkins' larger ensemble. Recording for the cutting-edge Babel label, he released an ensemble effort Step Wide, Step Deep and the solo collection Song Singular both in 2013. As different as those two settings were, Hawkins did a similarly masterful job of disrupting the interpretations of composition and free improvisation to produce an organic sound. Hawkins is a jazz piano scholar, whose proclivity for the complex doesn't preclude a deep appreciation for the standard-bearers of the art of the trio.

Продавец: Интернет-магазин Ozon. Адрес: Россия, Москва, Пресненская набережная, 10. ОГРН: 1027739244741

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Step Wide, Step Deep / Space Of Time Danced Thru
Composed By – Alexander Hawkins
2 Forgiven Only Words Once
Composed By – Otto Fischer
3 MO (-Ittoqqortoormiit)
Composed By – Alexander Hawkins
4 Listen / Glow
Composed By – Alexander Hawkins
5 Advice
Composed By – Alexander Hawkins
6 Assemble / Melancholy / Baobab Constellation
Composed By – Alexander Hawkins

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Fish Factory Studio


  • Clarinet, Bass Clarinet – Shabaka Hutchings
  • Design, Layout – Oliver Pitt
  • Double Bass – Neil Charles
  • Drums, Percussion – Tom Skinner
  • Electric Guitar – Otto Fischer
  • Liner Notes – Alexander Hawkins
  • Mastered By – Lewis Hopkin
  • Piano – Alexander Hawkins
  • Recorded By, Mixed By – Steve Lowe
  • Violin – Dylan Bates


Recorded April 3rd 2013 at Fish Factory Studios
Mixed May 2nd 2013

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 028159 000349